Real Food

{This is the second month of my 12 Resolutions – you can read about the start (and fail) here and here! Recipes will be coming out on Wednesday mornings, to coincide with my work schedule, the fact I only have time to cook and photograph Monday mornings, the limited sunlight in my living room/kitchen and the only time the people downstairs aren’t making whoopie/beer can pyramids/shame/me crazy.}

I try my best to be a healthy person. I get salads instead of fries, I don’t drink pop, I like steamed veggies. (lie. I hate them.) But sometimes I fail. Like last friday, when I worked all day with no lunch or dinner, then proceeded to eat a burger, ceasar salad, two beers, a box of popcorn, a package of peanut butter m&m’s, a package of skittles, 3 ceasars, another beer and a cup of hot nuts.

Fail.

Needless to say, when I came out of my self induced carb coma I figured the first recipe in February should be one that erred on the side of “real food” (see: something that didn’t come from a bar, heated box or movie theatre). I was highly skeptical of these brownies (black beans? two cups? really? really?) until I was tricked into eating them like a two year old, 1/2 a bottle of wine into a ladies night. (Unlike a two year old..)

And they are amazing. No word of a lie. They have the consistency of cheesecake, and I’m pretty sure they taste like a cross between delicious and a mouthful of angels singing James Brown. You’d never be able to guess that there are beans in them, which is kinda great, and also what tricked me into eating 1/2 a pan of them. As C. pointed out, you can now say “I need some protein” and grab a brownie. Bliss.

Thanks to B. for both tricking me into eating these and giving up the recipe with perfect modifications.

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
1 cup unsalted butter
2 cups black beans (washed lightly to remove starch/salt)
1 tbsp. vanilla extract
2 tbsp. strong brewed coffee
1/4 tsp salt
4 large eggs
1 1/2 cups brown sugar

Preheat oven to 325`F.

Line baking pan with parchment paper, oil it if you like. (I didn’t.)
Melt chocolate and butter in microwave or on stove top (double boiler style.) Stir to melt chocolate completely. Taste, and set aside.

Place black beans, vanilla, and a few large spoonfuls of the melted chocolate mixture into food processor. Blend for about two minutes, until smooth. Taste, and set aside.

In a large bowl, mix melted chocolate mixture, coffee, and salt. Taste, and set aside.

In another bowl, beat the eggs until light and creamy. Add the sugar and beat well.

Add the bean/chocolate mixture to the coffee/chocolate mixture. Blend well. Taste, and set aside.

Add the egg and sugar mixture, saving about 1/2 cup. Mix well. Pour the batter into prepped pan. Beat the reserved egg mixture until light and fluffy. Drizzle over the brownie batter. Use a toothpick to pull the egg mixture through the batter, creating a marbled effect. (This is where the crispy top comes from.)


Bake for about 45 minutes to an hour, or until toothpick comes out clean, center is cooked and edges are crispy.

Do not undercook.

Place pan in fridge until completely cool, overnight is best.

*These are best kept in the fridge and served very very cold.. Mmmmm…*

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Real Food

  1. sabby

    Oooooooooo….. those sound delicious! I’ll definitely be trying those soon.

  2. Woo! Those look super tasty (and super pretty – LOVE the marble effect!) :)

  3. Done and done. I can’t wait to make these for my son.. and of course myself. Thank you! Plus, the marbled effect will make me look like a pro. Don’t worry, I will give you the credit. :)

  4. Carlynn

    Brings a whole new meaning to ‘special brownies’ :)
    And with all that protein, perhaps we’ll start seeing juiceheads at the gym eating bean brownies instead of protein shakes.

  5. say yes to real delicious food. this looks amazing. ah. mazing.

  6. What an interesting recipe!

  7. I am TOTALLY making these!! Thanks for sharing! :)

  8. I’m pretty sure they taste like a cross between delicious and a mouthful of angels singing James Brown.

    I think I should just move in with you. Then my life would be complete. “Sorry B, Andrea make BROWNIES. Brownies with BEANS.”

  9. i am drooling so badly…. yummers.

  10. These look delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

  11. YES! I was going to e-mail you to beg for the recipe! Skype date tomorrow morning?

  12. These sound brilliant! I must make them when I have the house to myself.

  13. Ian C

    Oh my god these were good. Beans??

  14. And in related news, the bagels on your flickr account are AWESOME looking! I attempted them a little under a year ago and I have to say they were totally satisfying, and I kind of can’t wait to try again. Yours looked like perfection!

Leave a Reply

