Interview for You!

Hello all! Since I’ve been so lucky to catch a few new eyes out there lately, I thought it may be worthwhile to take part in this darling little interview meme that is going about, let you know a little bit more about me.  Kyla Bea was an incredible and interesting read, and sent me equally as interesting and thought provoking questions. I’m hoping that a few of you will take me up on this and continue on.. I’m plotting some questions already. Here are the rules –

1. If you want to participate, leave me a comment saying, “Interview
me.” (And your e-mail address, please.)
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone
else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them
five questions

Here we go!

1. What do you do for work? Your papier/photographie sections are amazing!

Lordy, I’ve been trying to figure out the answer to this question for a few minutes now.. and I guess it’s hard because what I do for work, and what I do to keep my sanity.. are very different! First and foremost I’m a student, finishing the first four years of what will undoubtably be many more (approximately 6 more) years of schooling,  after which I plan on being a fabulously intelligent, inspiring, well dressed Proffessor of Philosophy. Barring that, I’ll go into arms trading. Or spy school.

In order to pay for these career options, none of which come cheaply, I work evenings and weekends at a Rehabilitation Hospital as a switchboard operator. You know those fabulously dressed women who sit in a little room with all the lines and connectors and say “One Moment Please” and know everything thats going on? Sort of like that except with these crazy multi-line phones and paging systems and I’m usually decently confused and regularily confronted with awkward situations where I have to explain we’re a physical rehab hospital…

Now, to keep my sanity and some street cred I work for one of our city’s weekly papers, SEE. I initially began there writing music/concert reviews and doing interviews with bands and local designers, and now I’ve been enlisted to work as a stylist for the fashion issues. It’s a lot of fun to dress people up, borrow tonnes of shoes and clothing and hats and accessories and set the tone for fashion in our city. Does it pay well? Not really. Is it a lot of fun? Definately.

(and PS – Shucks, thanks! It’s really an pleasure and a priveledge to have a platform to share art and photography on, even more so when somebody appreciates it. )

2. Your blog is kind of teeming with your design sensibility, does this translate into your home or personal style? Describe what that is?

We’ve got a house of curios, and a closet full too! It’s a funny thing to attempt to define my current design/fashion style, I’d have to come up with a set of adjectives like “Post-modern Danish Balmain wannabe meets boho jazz club with a side of Indian Ikea.”  I think it’s probably best to say “in progress”.  Luckily, my partner in crime is similarily inclined when it comes to design. Our dream house is a mix of Danish Modern and elaborate antiques (he’s a big Rococo fan we discovered) and antlers (my obsession), and we’re slowly (soooo slowly) working towards that. My next big purchase will be an Eames rocker, after that, the sky is the limit!

Being a student, personal style often succumbs to personal comfort, as a result my closet is fairly streamlined; black black and more black. I like to try and buy local/Canadian when I can, and favour a few smart, expensive pieces that I love over a collection of mediocre things that I sort of like that promptly fall appart. I have a beautiful collection of jewellery that I brought back from India mixed with Tiffany’s (thanks J!) and an unwavering obsession with the Olsen twins.. *sigh* All that combines to either make me look fabulous, or like a bag lady, depending on the day.

3. Do you have any comfort or indulgences built into your weekly routine? What are they, and how do they help you?

To be honest, you guys are my comfort and indulgence! Because my time is usually split (unevenly) between school, the library, work and home, it’s rare that I get a chunk of time to myself where my attention is undirected. So for the past 6 months or so, I’ve been getting up early, making coffee, and sitting down to my computer. I read up on what everyone is doing, check Design*Sponge for my daily dose of  inspiration, look in on friends and favorites, read the news… I’ve been thinking a lot about the meta-community that is created here, then often actualized in meet-ups and letter exchanges and the such, and I find it truly incredible and inspiring. Doing what each of you do, reaching out and connecting, is a comfort to me, being part of that web.

I was also gifted with a fabulous bottle of Caramel Apple bubble bath recently, and after living three years without a bath tub, it has become my biggest indulgence. I think there is something inherently regenerative about baths, and when I’m working on a difficult paper, or wading through a tough text, there really isn’t anything better for me. Channelling a treat that pulls your fillings out doesn’t hurt either.

4. What are some of your favourite books?

Given that this post is already huge, and my reading collection even more so, I’ll try to narrow it down just a little! My all round favorite book would probably be 100 Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. It’s a book I waded through, periodically loving it and hating it, and then in the last ten pages cried with joy and decided it was my favorite book of all time. Love, history, insane stories, insanity… Remarkable. My favorite academic text would be a three way tie between Fear and Trembling by Soren Kierkegaard (where philosophy and faith meet and make nice-ish), The Communist Manifesto by Marx  (for depth and intrigue) and On Ideology by Althusser for a kick in the metaphorical pants. Poetry would have to go to just about anything by Bukowski, and sheer beauty, brilliance, sexiness and glimpse into a woman’s soul and mind to Anais Nin, particularily Henry and June. I’ve left off so many.. As a side note, I’m a true nerd, books are my dearest friends, and I arrange them on my bookshelf according to who I think they’d be friends with in life. *smile*

5. What is a city or place you would like to visit, and why?

I’ve been so lucky in my life to do the travelling that I’ve been able to, visiting  strange and far away places. So when it comes to dreaming of travel, I’m afraid some of my aspirations are a little plebian. Right now New York and Paris are high on the list, both possessing histories of design, fashion and architecture that just make me salivate. After that, Berlin, Reykavik, Mississippi, Rhode Island, Spain and Turkey make my feet tingle and my backpack shake, for vast and diverse reasons. (But mostly for food, design and art. Mostly food.)

So there you go folks! Thank you to Kyla Bea for creating questions that made me think, and I hope that I get to interview a few of you! xo 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Interview for You!

  1. Oh my gosh – I’m so glad that you wanted to be interviewed because your answers are amazing! Thanks so much for your time – I’m adding a bunch of your books to my must read list.

    I worked as a reception-ish (as I called it) at my last job and had the tack board next to me covered in 1920s – 1940s images of switch board operators. I now have you pictured as this lady. Just cause! lol

  2. fran

    You can interview me if you like! Your life sounds so fun and interesting and action packed though, I’m sure an interview with me wouldn’t be as worth reading!

  3. sabby

    I’ve been slacking on the blog front lately, so I’ll take you up on an interview for surely.

  4. Pingback: questions, questions… « fishing for beautiful

  5. You can interview me, if you so desire.

    I have one question for you though (sorry, I missed out on this whole thing)… what’s your favourite spot in Edmonton, and why?

Leave a Reply

