Monday Must Have

{P is for Panty. As somebody wiser than me once said, I have the humour of a 6 year old. It was the first thing I looked up. Fine. Second. They don’t have a picture for Sex.}

Another week. Wow. Yeah. I’m not sure how this is happening, but it just keeps going forward, and nobody is asking me or checking if this is ok. Because it’s not. My first grad school application is due this Friday, my anniversary is fast approaching and so far I have some cheese whiz and bailing twine for a gift (which actually sounds hilarious, I tried to come up with two obscure objects that would be terrible anniversary gifts and instead came up with our regular Friday night), my biggest accomplishment this weekend was beating J in a bowling tournament on the Wii (pictures to follow) and my sister is coming in 13 days. Which means I have 12 days to try and make our spare room look less “Hobos and dust bunnies tell stories around campfires about this mecca” and more “17 year old girl chic we totally remembered you were coming we just don’t know how to put the bed together living on mattresses is bohemian right?”.

AND. Alright. My secret NYE resolution was to be more honest. With myself. With others. Pretty much in general. Here goes.

J and I already did a “wow” slow happy dance in the kitchen the other day, but I wanted to share this…with you. Some of you have been following for a while.. (Seriously.. yeah. I’m not pregnant, I’m just nervous.) And it’s been a year since I made the decision to go off my antidepressants. For academic and mental and health and love and life reasons. For various reasons. I’m not.. advocating, or celebrating, or denouncing, or.. or well anything. And I’m not saying that I’ll never be on them again, or that it was a smart move or a dumb move or a move I made without the guidance of an incredible doctor… But I wanted to take a minute..a blog post.. to mark it. It’s had it’s ups (realizing that I may not be slow, I may just be…medicated…and brilliant..har..har..) and downs (throwing up into a smoothie cup in a GAP change room and realizing I will never be able to answer the attendant’s question “How did it go?” with a straight face again) and wobbly parts (I will not alphabetize and color code my fridge…) but mostly.. Mostly it was pretty damn incredible.

So.. today’s Monday Must Have was originally about Time. And I guess it still is – though it started out me desiring enough time to spend hours on THIS incredible site, (which is a great way to be introduced to new photographers…) I realize that we probably get all the time we need. A year. 12 days. 2 years.

Though a boy that ends up with cheese whiz for an anniversary gift might beg to differ. xo

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Monday Must Have

  1. Congratulations, dear. A year is a long time!

  2. Haha not to sound cliche, but oh, what the hell- you go girl!

  3. I think congratulations are definitely in order for that. It’s not about ‘should’ or ‘shouldn’t’ but being able to take that step, stick with it, and find yourself in a better place– that’s definitely deserving of some congrats.

  4. Congrats on the anniversary.
    You make me laugh. Cheese Whiz and bailing twine, that’s funny.

  5. Hooray.

    I like to dance in the kitchen daily.

  6. Figuring out what is best for you deserves some celebration—way to be honest and hopeful and trying to fit the puzzle pieces together. It’s hard. I’m proud of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

