to sit and laugh and start again.

TRI7854

{My grandma on the left}

Hello pumpkins. I’m home safe and sound. I’m  not sure yet about posting, I’m still a little shaky, but wanted to let you all know that I am ok, that I am moving forward, and to share a little funny story.

When my grandma was here visiting we went to Value Village, where she demanded to know why I appeared to be collecting junk that she had in her basement. When I told her that no, grandma, you don’t have all of this in your basement (this referring to a vintage Royal typewriter and the Herman Miller chairs that I have been drooling over online) she scoffed at me and told me that she did indeed have all this “shit” in her basement. 

I got to her house late on Saturday night after she passed away, and went into the basement where she kept her computer to start the processes that inevitably need to be started after all else has stopped. And there in her basement was a chocolate brown Eames Herman Miller armshell chair. I laughed knowing she would have had a big bowl of ” I told you so” for me to eat, and sitting here in my living room with that chair across from me, I know she would have loved that I would get to sit in in it and chow down. 

xo darlins, hold your loved ones a bit longer for me today.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “to sit and laugh and start again.

  1. What a beautiful photo. I’m sorry about your loss.

  2. haha! Aw, that’s really wonderful. I love that she managed to have the last word.

  3. Oh, sweetie. That moment in her basement sounds like a perfect one. I’m so sorry you don’t get to be with her anymore, she sounds just about as vibrant as…well, you.

    I hope your heart is doing alright!

  4. My grandma said the same thing! I started drooling over milk glass, and she just said “oh honey I gave all that away years ago”

    She also gave me her Royal typewriter (in mustard yellow!) because she didn’t think anyone else would want it…I got it repaired last summer, and maybe it will make it out to Boston sometime soon?

    Hope things are going okay – you and your family are in my thoughts..

  5. Lynn

    As I got to the end of your story, I felt a tear run down my cheek. Hugs to you.

  6. I am so sorry to hear about your grandmother, but I am glad that you’ve been able to have a light moment in the midst of it all.

    That photo is all kinds of awesome–I really wish I had something like that of my grandparents.

  7. aw, that’s so wonderful that you have this memory of her.

    i love coming across old photos like that one– how come modern posed pictures seem much less cool?

Leave a Reply

