Guest Blogger – Elizabeth Knox!

Hello My Lovelies! Another wonderful, uber talented blogger here today. Check out the fabulous Elizabeth (previously of The Spotted Ottoman) over at her photography site .  I’m loving visiting all your cities! Thanks again Elizabeth, you’re a peach. 

***

I have a problem–I fall in love too easily.

No, not with men. I’m happily married, thank you very much!

I fall in love with cities. I crave travel, and I get to do a fair amount of it, but every time I go somewhere, my problem kicks in. I start imagining what life there would be like. You mean there are places in this world where I can walk to Trader Joe’s?

I have made so many mental moves in my life. As a teen I went to Brazil with a cohort of students, and of course I was dreaming of what my settled down life in Rio de Janeiro was going to be like. I traveled to Europe to celebrate my college graduation with my then fiance, and of course I browsed the real estate ads in Munich. We stopped off in Berkeley, California, for a while and I fell head over heals with the idea of being able to dine at an Azerbaijan restaurant one night and a Scottish pub the next.

Nothing compares to Boston, though. I had my moving truck ready to move there, and at literally the last hour my husband and I decided to move to Austin instead. Oh, but I had dreams of strolling in and out of Cambridge bookstores with my hot tea. Very collegiate, don’t you think?

The more I travel, the more I tend to forget about the magic of Austin. I’ve been forcing myself to celebrate all the delightful things here–and there are many! A while ago I realized that I was holding off on making friends, thinking a move was imminent. We decided that only so much chaos at a time was allowed in our lives, so we’re here for the time being, and once that decision was made, we were able to settle into our local routines and embrace the friends we already have here. It really is a beautiful city (well if you remove the month long stretch of triple digit weather!).

I’m a photographer, so I am always looking for the unusual here. I am going to share a few shots of what I consider to be ‘classic’ Austin, the city I am loving more every day, even though I still fantasize about living in so many other places. Is that cheating on my city? These pictures are obviously just a small glimpse of what Austin has to offer. You should come visit – I’ll show you around! If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

p723369548-2
{This is on South Congress, facing the capital building of Texas.
Some of the best restaurants (and celebrity sightings!) are on this street.}
p614166390-2
{This is the Texas Hill Country right outside of Austin.
You’ll find wineries and a gorgeous lake out this way.}
p654781196-3
{The Austin skyline is growing every year, and
it is such a thrill watching the new high rises creep up!}

These pictures are obviously just a small glimpse of what Austin has to offer. You should come visit – I’ll show you around! If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Guest Blogger – Elizabeth Knox!

  1. I’m so glad you love Boston as much as I do. I’ve never been to Austin, but now I’m thinking I should get on that…

  2. oohhh come to boston!

  3. I want to go back badly, even if it is just for a visit!

Leave a Reply

